Home Contact Calendar News Staff
School Within a School
In This Section
School Within a School
School Within a School

The School Within a School Program exists at six high school sites. Students are supported during the school day prior to failing course work. Flexible programming is used to accommodate diverse life situations, including smaller class sizes, individual support, while fulfilling students requirements for graduation.

Curriculum will be a blend of direct instruction and project-based learning. Facilitators are full-time, licensed teachers who will help guide students on the path to recovering credits needed to graduate. Students will have the option to enroll in Diploma to Degree (D3) or Jobs for Americas Graduates programming (JAG).

Programming availabilty: Thomas Edison, Patrick Henry, Roosevelt, Washburn and Wellstone High Schools. Recently added for school year 2016-17, Southwest High School.

Students are recommended to register with their counselor or site coordinator.

School Within a School Site Coordinators:

Thomas Edison (SHARP) - Christine Sanguinet <Christine.Sanguinet@mpls.k12.mn.us>

Patrick Henry (HAP) - Kimberly Cook <Kimberly.Cook@mpls.k12.mn.us>

Roosevelt (RISE) - Jody Schieffer <Jody.Schieffer@mpls.k12.mn.us>

Washburn (SWISH) - Marylynn Boone <Marylynn.Boone@mpls.k12.mn.us>

Wellstone - Renee Meyer <Renee.Meyer@mpls.k12.mn.us>

Southwest (SWAG) - Jared Mountain <Jared.Mountain@mpls.k12.mn.us>